Thursday, March 31, 2011

Play Ball! Opening Day 2011

Even though there's a chance of snow in New York City tonight, a true sign that spring is finally here is today is opening day for the 2011 MLB season. 

After 100 years of tradition, this season will not be marked by the President of the United States throwing out the first pitch. Last year's performance by President Barack Obama was less than perfect. Baseball great Bob Uecker  called the pitch, "just a bit outside."

Here's a look at our past Presidents who threw out the first pitch. It all began with William Howard Taft in 1910. Jimmy Carter is the only President who didn't throw out an opening day pitch while in office. Harry Truman was the first lefty.

Taft 1910

Wilson 1916

Harding 1922

Coolidge 1928

Hoover 1931

Roosevelt 1940

Truman 1948

Eisenhower 1953

Kennedy 1961

Johnson 1967

Nixon 1969
Ford 1974

Reagan 1988

Bush Sr. 1989

Clinton 1993

Bush 2004

Obama 2010

No comments:

Post a Comment